Perth is the capital city of Western Australia (WA). It is the fourth most populous city in Australia with a population of 2 million.

WA is the largest state in Australia and occupies a third of the area of Australia. WA is divided into five regions: the Kimberley, the North West, the South West, the Interior and the Wheat Belt.


Perth is the sunniest capital city in Australia, with an average of 8.8 hours of sunshine per day, and 138 clear days annually. Summers are generally hot and dry, lasting from December to March. Winters are mild and wet, lasting from June to August.

Top Attractions in Western Australia

  • King’s Park and Botanic Garden
  • Fremantle Markets
  • Cottesloe Beach
  • Swan Valley
  • Rottnest Island
  • Swan River
  • Pinnacles
  • Wave Rock
  • Penguin Island
  • Monkey Mia
  • Ningaloo Reef
  • Lucky Bay
  • Karijini National Park

Universities in Perth

  • University of Western Australia
  • Curtin University of Technology
  • Murdoch University
  • Edith Cowan University
  • University of Notre Dame


StudyPerth works in collaboration with governments, educational institutions and stakeholders to build the profile of international education in WA. Visit StudyPerth for information on studying and living in Perth.